A Colorful Bean Salad for my weekday lunch

I love a good salad =] As much as I’d love to bring salads with leaves to work, I worry about the leaves wilting, losing their crunch, becoming watery, etc. (I don’t want to bring a large container either, but that’s a more petty reason not to bring leafy salads.) I’ve been trying a bunch of other quick-to-make salads as of late and this one, while being one of my first, remains one of my favorite experiments. As per any salad, adjust the ingredient quantities to your taste, or add/take out ingredients. I’ll list the ingredients and amounts that I used for this salad.

Ingredients:
2 12-oz bags of edamame pods, cooked and shelled
chickpeas (roughly the same amount as the shelled edamame beans)
2 cobs of corn (I roasted these with the husks still attached and then cut the kernels of the cob afterward)
1 large red bell pepper, medium-diced
2 large scallion stalks, chopped finely
Dressing: 3 parts aji verde : 1 part extra virgin olive oil : 1 part lime juice
salt and pepper to taste

IMG_9435In a large bowl, I mixed the beans and vegetables together.

IMG_9436I mixed the aji verde, olive oil, and lime juice together…

IMG_9438…and poured this dressing into the large bowl.

IMG_9440I stirred to combine and seasoned to taste (I added a little more salt as well as cayenne pepper). Chill in the refrigerator for at least a couple hours before serving.

IMG_9445


IMG_9446Comments:

I’d say for the amount of beans and salad, I had between 1/4-1/2 c dressing. I only wanted enough dressing to coat the beans and vegetables.

I had cayenne pepper so I used that, but if I didn’t I wouldn’t have had a problem using black pepper.

In retrospect, the one thing I would’ve done differently would be to add a jalapeno or 2 (minced, probably)…the heat would’ve been nice, but I was otherwise quite satisfied with this salad!

I use dried chickpeas: In general I soak them overnight in a lot of water and then boil them for 15-20 minutes (depending on the amount of beans). One can definitely use canned chickpeas though!

Salads like these are quick to prepare. Bean salads in particular are quite satiating as well. I used edamame and chickpeas, but I could see myself using a bunch of different beans for whatever type of bean salad. I like how this salad maintained its crunch after almost a week (yeah, I made that much). It’s colorful, too! Try your own bean salad someday!

Leave me a comment!