So summer is almost here…

As the weather starts to warm up it’s time to take advantage of what the farmer’s market has to offer. I like to treat myself to organic or locally grown or raised foods when I can as these foods taste better to me: produce tastes less watery, meats have better flavor when minimally seasoned, etc. Something about buying produce straight from those who work at a specific farm makes me feel better as a consumer as well.

Today, I bought a small bunch of this interesting vegetable called a garlic scape. I’m curious to cook with it and taste it in as pure of a form as possible. Like garlic chives I can see myself slicing these into pretty small pieces and mix it up with firm tofu, cabbage, scallion, etc. for dumplings. Seasoned with a little soy sauce and mirin, I can only imagine these having a mildly garlicky bite.

image

Until tomorrow though 🙂

Spring is my favorite season overall but summer is my favorite season for cooking mainly because of all the produce available. Monday at the union square farmer’s market already had quite an abundance of a few items, which can only mean that Wednesday (my favorite day to stop by) and Saturday (most of the vendors are around on this day) will feature so much more!

I also bought sugar snap peas and strawberries and am excited to snack on these raw.

image

Summer also means that colder dishes will be listed in restaurant menus! My favorites include gazpacho, bibim guksu, (any naeng myun, really though) and hiyashi chuka 🙂

image

Restaurant week is also in July/August, how could I almost forget?

Looking forward to what the warmer months have to offer. Now that I live in the city, maybe I can truly experiment with some new ingredients!